part 319:

“Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem”
-in the name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful-

Authors note:
Okay.. So I know that I really took this break seriously… But honestly, you have no idea how I needed it… And I’m glad I took this break because who knows what nonsense I would have posted everyday..
But I must let you all know that I missed you like craaaaaaZY!!! So guess what? I’m back.. Alhamdulillah.. But I will be rounding off this blog and intend completing it by the end of the year inshallah so that I can continue with ‘missing pieces joined’.. So enjoy the post….:))


RecAp:
Altaf was telling us how he and sajida–his second wife— met…

altafs point of view:

I thought about it all through the night and came to a decision by the next morning..

I ought to have been extremely exhausted from the lack of sleep, but I wasn’t.. I was determined and excited and nervous all at the same time..

The minute I walked into the office extra early that morning, I immediately looked for her.. As punctual as she was, she was already sitting at her desk busy with her work.. She didn’t even glance up to look at me or acknowledge my presence there until I stood at her desk and gave a light cough..

She jumped out of slight shock and put her hand to her chest…
“Maaf…sorry to have startled you..” I apologised

“Its ok.. I was just deep in thought and didn’t realise you were standing here.. Is there something I can do for you mr A?” She asked in a very business like manner which made me want to do this even more.. She never ever threw herself at me for all that I was worth… She was modest and had respect!

“I need to talk to you about something really important please.. So as soon as you have a few minutes, in my office please..?”

Her expression changed to one of worry and I realised that being called in by your boss is never a good thing.. Its 99% of the time a bad thing…

I continued to my office where I contemplated how I was going to go about doing this.. And obviously what her reaction would be…

Would she be disappointed in me?would she leave the company?

I was disturbed from my train of thought by a knock on my office door..
“Come in!”

She nervously entered and closed the door behind her before coming closer to my desk..

“Have a seat…!” I offered politely..

She obliged..

“You’re probably wondering why I’m calling you here.. Well.. Its abit to do with your personal life and work at the same time…”

She looked at me with a very puzzled look…

“If you’re not comfortable with anything I’m about to say or ask, please, just stop me and let me know.. And whatever is discussed in this office right now, is strictly confidential… Just between you and I….”

She nodded with an even more intense frown…

“Okay.. To start off with, I’d just like to know.. Have you ever been in a relationship? I mean.. Have you been married before…?”

This caught her by surprise.. She looked down..
“No.. I haven’t… Not because there weren’t any good enough prospects..” She added.. “But by choice…”

“Why?” I interrupted.. “I mean, why do you choose to stay single..?”

“Its complicated sir…”She began..

I cut her off…” Skip the sir for now.. Its altaf.. Explain.. I’ve got all day..”

“Because… My mum and I live alone.. She has no-one else to look after her and I don’t think its fair to get married and leave her alone after all she’s done for me…”She said sadly..

“What if you get someone who is willing to let you keep living with your mum…? So you won’t have to leave her?” I asked with hope

She laughed sarcastically…” Which man is crazy enough to do that? Men are selfish.. And only want women to see to their needs.. How do you think I’m going to be able to see to his needs and my mother at the same time? Maybe in the beginning he will.. But as time goes by. He’ll get fed-up.. And leave… They all do..”

“That’s not true..” I defended

“It is… Anyway…sir.. I mean altaf..” She began shyly..” What does this have to do with work?”

“I have a proposal for you.. Its a good one but unfortunately if you accept, I’m not going to be able to keep you here to work anymore…”I put forward to her

“WHAT? I don’t need any proposals… My job is more important.. And whoever it is can get lost…I’m not interested.. I’ve just started here and if you’re not happy with my work, just say so, and I’ll find another job, you don’t have to make silly excuses…” She got up almost in tears….

Me: “sajida… Please! Sit down and hear me out properly first…”

She sat down again and crossed her hands over her chest..

Me: “I know how important your work is to you and honestly, I’m very impressed with your performance thus far… But the proposal is a good one…. The guy is willing to marry you and support both you and your mother.. He will provide you with your own comfortable home where you and your mother can live safely.. And the reason why you’ll have to leave work is because he’s willing to support yours and your mothers every need fully where you would never have to work and he’s not happy having you in a place where there are other guys flirting and throwing themselves at you…”

sajida: “what is this? Some kind of a sick joke? Those type of things are far-fetched and only happen in fairytales… What’s the catch to this whole crazy idea here?”

I shook my head.. This was harder than I’d expected it to be…
“Let me come out straight… Instead of beating around the bush…” I paused before continuing…
“Sajida…. I want to marry you! I have never seen a woman of your age so modest and uninterested in things of this world.. I admire you for having to never leave your mother and I want to make your life easier.. I want to be there to look after you and your mother and I don’t want you to work anymore… I’ll find someone else to do your job.. Or if you want to continue it from home… You can… But there’s no obligation on you…”

Her mouth was agape… And the expression on her face was unreadable…”I don’t need anyones sympathy or help…”

And with that she stood up and walked not just straight out of my office, but she grabbed her things and walked out of the building…

What a fool I felt like.. What did I expect? For her to run into my arms and accept whole heartedly? Which modest woman was just going to accept the proposal of a married man…?

Stupid me! Stupid! Stupid!

Now I not only lost what I thought would be a great wife.. But also my employee…again!


Authors note:
There are only 1000 durood left to complete our durood challenge and a few paras are still available of our quraan khatam…please contribute

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

7 thoughts on “part 319:

  1. zana says:

    Welcome sister
    u were sorely missed. Hope you had a lovely break
    can’t wait to see how this all is going to end.
    altaaf is a good man for wanting what he wants for saaj.

  2. sister/in/Islam says:

    Marhaba !!!!!!!
    Welcome !!!!!!

    Really really missed U Mrs S …..
    Hmmm….. Wonder how things got sorted out after this meeting !?!?!
    Will hav2 wait n see …
    Altaf is such a wonderful person , for going abt it the correct way and wanting to provide for her !!

    جزاك اللهُ خيراً

  3. A says:

    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته
    Sister you were greatly missed, welcome back
    Hope you enjoyed your break

    Altaaf seems to have found someone who truly is a gem and doesn’t fall for men and their charms
    Can’t wait to hear how he won her over and made her his wife
    BTW sister we missing faaiza and all her drama

  4. radiyya27@gmail.com says:

    أسسلام عليكم ورحمةالله وبركات
    Sooo glad u back, ​الحمدللّهِ
    Hope yopur break was good.

    Take care
    Radiyya
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

  5. Sister A. says:

    Welcome back dear sister. I hp Ʋ njoyed ur well deserved break. 😉
    Altaaf approached Sajida °̩и a dignified manner.He recognised her good qualities 4 which he chose 2 propose 2 her. Sajida’s reaction 2 da situation is understandable. She was taken by surprise least xpecting him 2 call her 2 his office 2 propose 2 her. Eagerly waiting 2 hear wat hapend next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

