part 296:

“Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem”
-in the name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful-

Simplicity like I’ve never seen before…..

People in south africa will probably die before they allow themselves to hold such a simple function…

There was not a single centre piece, no chair backs, and plain white table cloths…

Half the hall had table cloths laid out in rows on the floor or whoever could manage sitting on the floor and the other half of the hall had tables set in rows for whoever couldn’t manage to sit on the floor for whatever reason…

I wondered who would actually attend this walimah as maryam and imran had no family and there were so many places set out…

Mind you, there were only disposable plates and cups on the tables..

The ladies section could easily fit approximately 350 people… Where were they going to get 350 relatives to serve?

But that’s where our mistake lies.. A walimah isn’t just for relatives… Its ultimately for the poor.. Its to feed the poor and partake from the blessings and duahs that they bring to your function…

I watched, totally in awe, as the centre started filling up with muslims from every race… And each one took a seat as if they were family….

“No my dear… I don’t know everyone here..” Maryam explained… “Its an open invitation… We had a notice written on the masjid board that anyone and everyone is welcome….”

My mouth was agape… And when I finally managed to recover from the shock, I asked: “but how did you know how many people to cater for?”

“We didn’t know… We just asked the cook to cook as much as we could afford to and bismillah…. Allah provides my darling… Whoever gets food.. Alhamdulillah… Whoever is too late, it was never part of their fate…”

I was so touched by this gesture…. And everyone looked genuinely happy.. Salma and I watched as people came to greet maryam and make dua for her and the newly wedded couple…. This definitely ought to bring happiness, peace and tranquillity into their marriage inshallah…

We were having such a lovely time… This was by far the most different and joyous Wedding or walima I had ever been to…it was nothing compared to the extravagance I’ve witnessed in south africa…

I thought it would have been tough with humaira being so little. But maryam has the kindest heart ever.. Even though its her sons walimah, she has humaira glued to her arms no matter what she’s doing..

I’ve tried endless of times to take her away, but to no avail…

Now I can see where ismail gets his stubbornness from.. Its most certainly genetic…

The next day, we all decided to make the most of the few days we have left in the UK….

Abdurahman and tasneem have so kindly decided to postpone their honeymoon for after we leave back to south africa…

Tasneem wants to get to know us better in this time since I am her only bhabi..her only brother in laws wife..

We all seem to get along quite well .. No puTting up any hypocritical behaviour like everyone else back home..

We were out having dinner one evening when ismail received a call from dada and them in medina…

After a quick pass of a few pleasantries between the 2, ismail handed the phone over to me..

I briskly walked out onto the balcony where it was slightly more quiet to talk to dada.. It was way too noisy in there and the delay of the call didn’t help much in concentrating on the conversation…

“Assalaamualaykum dada!!!” I was so excited to hear from them… I actually missed them.. We’d become so attached in these past few months that we’ve been living with them that they had now become part of my life.. But they were in a better place right now and no better care than the care of Allah in the holy lands…

We heard twice before from them… The day they landed and settled in at their hotel, dada called to let us know that they’ve reached safely and were well…

And the second time was when they reached medina 2 days ago… To say that they had reached medina….

So I was quite surprised that dada had called again so soon.. But I wasn’t complaining.. Atleast I could speak to them again…

“Beti… Wa’ alaykum salaam….” And then there was a delay and a crackling sound… I thought it was a really bad connection until dada began speaking again…

“Beti….dadi…..”and then the silence again…

I was getting frustrated at this line… I could barely understand what dada was trying to tell me….

“Dada? Can you hear me? How’s the trip so far? How’s dadi? I hope you don’t forget to paSs my salaams on to nabi(S.A.W) for me” I tried getting as much as possible into the conversation because this delay was really annoying me..

“Jee… Beti..dadi wasn’t feeling too well this morning.. She went to make salaam at the roudha mubarak after fajr salaah… But on her way back she just collapsed….”

6 thoughts on “part 296:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    Wow !! Wat a beautiful walimah ما شاء الله !!!
    If only we all could learn from this and practise ……
    Now … Hope Dadi is well !!!
    Wat a mubarak place they r in !! ​​​الحمد لله

    May اللَّهُ take us all over n over agen – آمين يا رب العالمين

    جزاك اللهُ خيراً

  2. A says:

    It’s so true that there is so much barakah in simplicity and also a waleemah is for the poor n not to see who can out do who
    Hope dadi is alright….

  3. Sister A. says:

    الْحَمْـّدُاللَّه a Walima with simplicity!
    Now Dadi is unwell. Hp dis is nothin serious. They so fortunate dat dey r °̩и such a Mubarak place. May ﷲ tk us ӑℓℓ ther over & over again ثُمَّ آمِيْن!

Leave a Reply

