part 288:

“Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem”
-in the name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful-

“Oops!” Ismail said in such a faulty way…

My eyes were brimming with excitement….. And ismail could see it.. He was grinning like the imbecile that he is…

“What in the world is this?” I asked picking it up and scrutinising…

“Like duh……what does it look like? A movie ticket maybe?” Ismail replied sarcastically..

“But to where? For who? ” I didn’t want to make it obvious that I knew but I was also genuinely overjoyed at the same time….

Even though I knew that we were going… All this waiting had made me doubt the whole idea abit.. And now that I was holding our plane tickets in my hand, I really couldn’t believe it…. It felt like a dream…

“Didn’t you say you wanted to go to london for abdurs wedding…..?”

I couldn’t control myself… I practically leaped forward and hugged him so tight…. Thank goodness humaira was in her car seat….

A bit of shyness and satisfaction mixed together could be sensed from ismail…. I’m sure he didn’t know how I’ll react…..

“When? Why didn’t you tell me?” I asked as I opened them up and studied the details on the tickets…
“Babes??!!! These tickets are booked for friday night….”

I started panicking…. Friday night? It was monday afternoon already.. How was I supposed to be ready by then? There’s so much to sort out and do and buy… I’m not like other people who travel often and can just pull out a bag and pack with my eyes closed…

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity.. But how was I supposed to manage in such short notice…

“That’s why we starting our shopping…” Ismail spoke and I noticed him heading in the direction of the mall…

“Are you serious? You expect to get everything done in one afternoon? I don’t even have a list ready…” Well that was a slight lie because ever since salma blurted it out to me, I’d secretly began making my lists on my phone under the memo application… I had been so nervous that ismail shouldn’t check my phone because then I would be doomed.. He would know that I know and the surprise wouldve been spoilt and salma would get into trouble and maybe our whole trip would even be cancelled… What? I’m not exaggerating.. You know how these men can be sometimes? Irrational..!

“No… Ofcourse not.. But we’re starting today… See what we can do today and we’ll sort out whatever else we need the rest of the week… I’ll take off in the afternoons if you need me to…” Ismail offered ever so kindly…

But where do I start? I needed to stop asking myself that.. We often do that… Stress about how much of work we’ve got to do and we spend all our time stressing that we don’t actually get any work done at all…

I heard someone once saying, that when we pick up a book to read, instead of looking at the thickness of the book don’t say: “oh no!! There’s 800 pages in the book…I’ve got 780 pages still left to read!”.. Rather tell yourself….:” there’s 800 pages in the book and wow! I’ve already read 20 pages…. Only 780 to go….”

Be optimistic! I told myself repeatedly… We often stress too much… But things always seem to get done anyway…

Allah has made it that way that whatever is meant to be completed in a specific time frame… That is all that’s going to be completed.. Nothing more and nothing less.. So stressing is not going to help one bit.. Its not going to change what’s meant to be…

So with a very optimistic mind, ismail and I started off buying a few necessary toiletries and some extra stuff that we’ll want to take with…

I had to find out from maryam what the weather was like on that side of the world in december so I would know what to pack or if I needed anything else, I could go ahead and buy it..

I’ve heard that london is always cold and gloomy and never much sun…. But how would I know? Not like ove ever been there..

But if that is the case of the weather, I’ll be in my glories…. You all know how I LOVE winter and the cold…

Ismail was generous and offered to buy a whole lot of unnecessary things.. But I’m not a fan of wasting money so I didn’t allow that…

He even bought me a gorgeous, yet very elegant abaya to wear for the wedding…


Authors note:
Okay…. I felt bad… Some of you asked really nicely and also, I’m owing you for way too long.. Sooo.. Enjoy this extra post…. This means I only owe you one more now…:p

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

12 thoughts on “part 288:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    YipppeeeEeeeee !!!
    He FINALLY told her !!! *shew*
    Now u can show ur excitement Fay !!!
    Enjoy ur shopping …..
    جَزَاكَ اللهُ خَيْرًا 

    For the extra post …..
    All the best Fay – for ur packing …..

  2. A says:

    ما شاءالله
    Love how he dropped the surprise
    Fay spend whilst he’s allowing u to bcoz it’s not always u going to get this opportunity
    جزاك الله خيرا
    Sister for the extra post

  3. Sister A. says:

    Awww! wat a luvly surprise. Ƒ☺я a change Faaiza has sumtin 2 look 4ward 2. Αи∂ now she gets 2 go on a shopping spree …. Yippeeeee!

    • Wslm sister…please try subscribing again..not sure howcum…. Is there maybe a problem with ur e-mail? Are u receiving other e-mails… After resubscribing, if you don’t cum ryt, let me know and I’ll try to add you from my side inshallah.. Sorry for the inconvenience

Leave a Reply

