part 277:

“Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem”
-in the name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful-

Maryam couldn’t put humaira down… Any little whimper from her and she was at her cot side and rocking her in her arms and singing laa’ilaaha illallaah to her…

She didn’t give me a chance to even change her diaper or bath her..

she massaged her and rubbed her with olive oil and had her playing in the warm water in her bath… Not even so much as a cry from humaira..

All I could think of was what life would have been like, had ismail really been brought up with these excellent people..

But ofcourse.. This was Allahs plan in the end of the day… I guess if he was brought up by them, I wouldn’t have got myself stuck infront of his house that rainy day after my art class..

And I wouldn’t have had the opportunity of meeting him and I wouldn’t have married him and gone through all that I had…

And I wouldn’t have learnt so many lessons of life either..

Just thinking about it all gave me a headache… taqdeer.. Destiny, was something unfathomable… Only Allah knows the true wisdom behind it all…

How life has planned out for all of us up until now, was exactly as Allah had planned it even before we were brought into this world..

Once again this weekend the house was full..

The twins were all too happy to have amatullah around, who seemed to love their company.. They were distracted for hours on end and didn’t nag or irritate us even once..

She laughed and played with them in their rooms the entire time…

I had to keep reminding them to call her ‘foi’… To which they were really shy to do at first but at the end got so used to it.. She was ismails sister and that was the rightful name to call her..

We decided on having a braai on sunday… They needed to taste what a good old south african ‘braai’ was all about..

Besides, ismail had gone to our local farm on thursday to do humairas aqeeqah and we had fresh aqeeqah meat to braai..

In a way I also wanted it that way because I felt bad for dadi who had been busy non-stop with all my visitors.. She needed a break from the kitchen today.. Even though salma was here to help most of the time, she had a husband and a home of her own now and couldn’t stay around as much as she could have before.. And because of the caesar, I wasn’t in perfect condition to do that much as yet..

And even though I tried to help a few times, I was shoved straight back to bed…

Aqeel, Imran and abdurahman sat around the braai stand helping ismail to braai while we ladies sat in the dining room and nibbled on bits of snacks which some of the neighbours had sent last week..

I could listen to maryam talking all day long. I just loved her accent.. So different to our ‘flat’ south african indian accent.. Especially a jo’burger like me..

They’d brought us gifts galore… The most gorgeous pink baby grows and fluffy blankets… The little shoes were to die for.. Even someone like me, who usually couldn’t be bothered about clothes and materialistic stuff, was fretting over the gorgeousness of the items..

They’d brought something for every person yet again.. How do I ever repay them for their kindness? I remember imraan saying the last time that he’d missed out on so many years of ismails life and that’s why now they want to make it up to him and make the most of it..

The meat was brought straight off the braai stand and placed onto the table for us ladies.. For a change we were being served instead of serving..

Ismail had set a seperate platter for the men who were sitting outside on the table set for them… Fortunately the weather was warming up quite nicely so it was perfect..

Dadi even marinated a few pieces of hoowavar chicken for me so that I don’t drool over their meat.. And I could eat abit of pap or mash aswel with it..

I tried to maintain eating bland stuff for atleast the first 3-4 months so that I could save myself from a colic baby..

Just as I’d dished out, the intercom buzzed interrupting my hand from reaching my mouth which was already watering..

ismail returned with an annoyed look on his face after opening the gate for our new visitors…

“more visitors?” Maryam announced smiling…”People must really love you a lot down here..”

I moved uncomfortably in my seat as soon as my glance fell towards the front door…


**Authors note:
Extra post for not posting last week friday… :))

#revivethesunnahofmiswak
#recitequrandaily
#revivethesunnahofawakening
#revivethesunnahofeating
#boycottsin**

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “part 277:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    Hmmmmm …. BRAAI !!!!!!!!!
    Making me hungry here Mrs S !!!!
    N Now ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    U can’t just leave it there ….. We NEED to know whose here … Hmmm mayb its the ‘gremlin’ mother herself ??!!!
    She smelt the ‘braai’ (lol) and also the overseas visitors !!
    Came to make some trble hey !!!!
    Well … Let’s see wat happens – hopefully SOON ……………

    جَزَاكَ اللهُ خَيْرًا 
 ┉┈┈┈♡♡ -̶̯͡┈̥⌣̊°˚

  2. A says:

    Hmmmm…. Braai, I’m also coming to join u sister SL, can’t resist
    Faaiza’s reflection is so true that Ismail would’ve been a different person had he. Been brought up by his own parents as opposed to the gremlins but the. She wouldn’t have met him
    Seems like the gremlin found out about the ‘overseas’ visitors n came to show her jaat.
    جزاك الله خيرا for the extra post sister

Leave a Reply

