part 209:

‘Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem’
(In the name of Allah, the Most kind, The Most Merciful)

I followed imran into his simple yet very neat home after he’d welcomed me at the entrance and I caught a glimpse of a petite elderly woman standing against the passage wall, vigorously brushing her teeth with a miswaak…

It was a strange thing for me to see…I’ve never truly seen a woman using a miswaak before..I’ve often seen some moulanas or jamaat brothers using it in the masjid, and for some reason I always attributed the use of a miswaak to men….well ofcourse my islamic knowledge is limited and on the first glance this woman who was supposedly my mother had already taught me something deeni…

I suddenly felt very conscious of myself…I wasn’t sure of how to react or what to say or whether or not to go forward and greet with my hand….but I suppose she took the first step….

The moment she set her gaze on me, she took her miswaak out of her mouth but didn’t close it…her mouth remained agape…and then she brought both hands over her face and began crying uncontrollably…

Women….!!!this is the second woman in one day who’s crying and emotional nature I have to deal with….

What was the need to cry?I guess I’ll never understand it or get to ask the reason for it….

After a few akward minutes of us just standing there staring at eachother, she came towards me and thrust herself at me….now this I wasn’t used to..the only woman I ever hug is faaiza…..and come to think of it, I don’t ever remember hugging my ‘so called’ mother or ‘sisters’ rukaya or kulsum….

But somehow I allowed her to hug me…it felt warm and okay….and she held onto me like her life depended on this single hug…..

Maryam:”my son!!!allahu akbar!!!my son!!!!”

She kept repeating this while stroking my face in a motherly way and hugging me over and over again…

Maryam:”Allahu akbar!!!I cannot believe that Allah has brought you to me…I cannot believe that you are standing infront of me….and alhamdulillah…look at you…mashallah…you are well….you are so handsome….mashallah…you look just like your father and brother abdurahman…..(She paused and the began shouting)…..abdurahman!abdurahman!….amatullah!!!come…come and meet your brother…where are you chikdren….come inside!come and have a seat..can I get you something to drink?have you eaten?can I get you some food?”

Imran started laughing….
“Maryam…love!relax…..so many questions in one breath?and you’re not even giving ismaa’il a chance to respond….”

Maryam:”I’m sorry….ismaa’il….(She smiled)..alhamdulillah they kept your name…..they didn’t change it…..how are those gremlins?did they treat you well?are you well?”

Me:”alhamdulillah…I suppose their fine”

As for the other question, I won’t answer that…..did they treat me well?pft….what a question….but I obviously didn’t want to divulge that..

I got to meet abdurahman and amatullah…they were all very islamically inclined….they both were clad in complete islamic attire…

Abdurahman had a huge beard..at first I felt abit out of place..I felt like the outcast here…

But as we got chatting, they made me feel so at home that time just flew by and I didn’t even realise how late it was..

Aqeel met up with us at supper time, but what really amazed me was that maryam and amatullah didn’t join us for supper…I felt bad that they had to be away in their own house for pardah reasons, but it didn’t seem to bother them much…they seemed really happy..

We were only staying for 4 days and within those 4 days abdurahman took me around to check out the business and stuff…

He and imran had been running it but now imran wants to retire..

So they called me over to discuss..they want abdurahman and I to be partners in the business…abdurahman will run it obviously but we both should have our share in the business…

Me:”but I can’t….really…I appreciate what you’re trying to do…but its just not right…you guys brought this business to where it is at the moment…and I’m not even around to see to it….I can’t have anything to do with it…”

Imran:”ismaa’il..you are my son…..no matter what…..you have to agree…its rightfully yours”

Abdurahman:”yes….its yours just as much as it is mine…we are brothers and it would be totally unfair for me to take the whole of it…”

Me:”but you are the one that’s making all the effort…you deserve it all..look…I’m not just going to accept…let me think about this, speak to faaiza and before I leave to go back home, inshallah you’ll have an answer…”


#revive the sunnah of miswaak

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

14 thoughts on “part 209:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    ‎​​سُبْحَانَ اللَّه !!!!!!!
    A mothers love …
    What happiness she mustb feeling – after sooo many years … N to think That they were reverts but practice Deen better than ‘born’ Muslims ….
    This may just b a story , but it happens in real life , and it should b an eye opener for us all …
    How wonderful n just they r – to giv him his share evn tho he has nothing to do wid it – that’s our pure Deen – Islam … Every1 is entitled to their share – no matter what ..
    I wonder what their decision will b ,,,,!!!!!!

    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

    ‎​​​جُمُعَة مُبَارَك to all ..
    Rmb us all in duas ..
    May ‎​اللَّهُ grant all a spiritually uplifting day and accept all ibaadat and answer all good duas – ‎​​​​آمين

    ‎​صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ
    ‎​صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ
    ‎​صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ

  2. Slms really & truely a very emotional post no person on Earth can take the place of of a mother May Allah grant our Parents a long life with complete Aafiyat Inshaallah
    Aameen
    Jazakallah to u sister for your blog very inspiring May Allah reward you abundantly Aameen💗

  3. Lol, I love the clever play on words with regards to the sunnah revival. I can just picture Ismail’s first reaction to his mother and to her crying

Leave a Reply

