part 196:

‘Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem’
(In the name of Allah, the Most kind, The Most Merciful)

Man:”are you brother imran?”

Me:”yes that’s me..”

Man:”I need to have a word with you if possible..I’ve already spoken to your boss and he’s given permission”

Me:”yes sure…sorry I didn’t get a name?and what exactly is this about?”

Man:”please follow me”

He ignored my question and walked to a quiet area just around the corner from the entrance of the company I worked for…there was a car parked which I assumed to be his because he opened the door and pulled out a large envelope from the cubby…

He removed some papers from the envelope and placed them on the bonnet where we now stood…

Man:”I have been sent on behalf of the couple from S.A who have adopted your son…..”

I looked at him now with a frown on my face…what could they still want from us?I thought it was all over and that now we needed to forget and move on….

He then pulled out a separate envelope from his pocket….

Man:”this is a payment from them…..”

Me:”for what?there’s no need to pay us…the adoption has taken place….we have already handed over our son to them….”

Man:”no…you don’t understand…this is a sum of money for you and your wife….to live happily……(Pause)…the couple have but one simple request…..”

me:”and what is that?”

Man:”they want you to completely forget that the baby was yours…..you need to believe that you are not the father…….your wife needs to believe that she had not given birth to him…whatever evidence of him ever being yours that you have, needs to be destroyed by the end of today…..you are never to contact him or them ever again in your life….understood?”

Me:”WHAT?!!!that is sick! And crazy…..!how can we do that?he was ours…and nothing can ever change that….atleast we thought that we could be friends with the couple and know regarding the well being of our son sometimes….”

His voice became harsh:
“You are not understanding imraan……this is not a choice that you are given…..we are giving you till the end of today..until midnight…..from tomorrow, at any given time your house may be ransacked and if any evidence of you ever having a baby is found…..there will be MAJOR damage…..to you….to your wife…to your tiny little shack that you call a home…..oh! And not forgetting…..we know where you work and just like this(clicking his fingers in my face)……you will be jobless too……..”

I was dumbfounded……am I dreaming?this is like a nightmare…..as much as maryam tried to convince me that these people were not that nasty…if she must now know….how will we live?yaa Allah!!!!!!you help us….

Man:”do you understand now?”

I remained silent….I didn’t want to agree..I couldn’t…..were we a threat to them? I thought that atleast when ismaa’il would grow up, they would tell him that he was adopted…this would be the best thing to do…how can they not tell him that he was not their real child….?

Man:(speaking louder now)”DO YOU UNDERSTAND?”

And he held the pen to my face…..expecting me to sign the papers infront of me without even reading their sick conditions…

Me:”can I atleast read what’s in here?I don’t sign anything that I haven’t read completely….”

He looked at his watch…..
“Oops! I guess your times up…your boss only gave you 10 minutes….and I’m sure you don’t want to make him angry now do you?cos that would mean you losing your job….”

Dog!!!!how could they pressurise me like this? This was totally unfair…

Man:”please sign here sir!”

I was conflicted….I was put in a situation once again…where I had to make such life threatening decisions……YAA ALLAH! Please help me…!.

With shaking hands I took the pen that he was waving infront of me…I paused and contemplated…..

He tapped his fingers on the bonnet
“The clock is ticking….your boss is waiting!”

Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem…..
And I half-heartedly signed it

I immediately regretted….what if I was signing for something worse?what if I was signing for them to murder my son?anything could have been written in those papers….these people seem like they are capable of anything..

I turned around and left….without the envelope of money…..I don’t care about their stupid money…no amount of money is going to help the way I feel…the frustration…the hurt….the sadness….no amount of money is going to bring maryam and I happiness or peace of mind…we will live in fear for as long as we have reminders of our baby? We have done something which we consulted in Allah about…we made istikharah…we were given advice by sheikh…we made mashwarah…then why does all of this just feel wrong?


Authors note:
8 khatams complete alhamdulillah

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

7 thoughts on “part 196:

  1. A says:

    Ya الله!!! This post bought tears to my eyes that can ppl be so callous that they want them to forget their own child???
    My heart is aching for Imraan that he gave up his most prized possession n now he’s being told to forget him, can there be worse ppl than them ‘angry n hurt’

  2. sister/in/Islam says:

    Yaa ‎​اللَّهُ !!!!!
    Plz send another tissue truck ASAP !!!!

    …… Really …. No words to describe how cruel ppl can be !!!!! How can we just forget something that is part of us ???? Eish – hectic …
    N anyway – no amnt of money can replace a child !! Awww , they’ve been thru soo much , yet they r soo steadfast – may we take lessons from that … Put out total faith in ‎​اللَّهُ … N ‎​اللَّهُ will help us out …

    Wonder how he’s gonna tell Maryam , n how she’s gonna react !!???!!!!

    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

  3. Sister A. says:

    & just wen I thought it cudnt get worse …….. 😦
    Wat heartless pepl da adoptive parents are.
    Can’t imagine how Ismail & Maryam lived ӑℓℓ those years after makin dat decision.

  4. Amatullah (puma_girl) says:

    Allahu Akbar u have my tears flowing !! how could they???!!! stupid ignorant good-for-nothing scumbags!!!!!!

  5. S says:

    You know that feeling you get when you feel like something’s missing but you can’t quite point it out? Yeah I have that.. I just realized its cos there was no post today 😦

    Hope you okay Mrs S**
    Do post soon.
    Much love xx

    ​السَّلاَمُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ وَ بَرَكَاتُهُُ

Leave a Reply

