part 192:

‘Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem’
(In the name of Allah, the Most kind, The Most Merciful)

Alhamdulillah I reached the hospital in time….maryam had been rushed into theatre but hadn’t yet given birth….

She had a really tough labour….it lasted almost 14 hours..the pains were coming on quite strong but she wasn’t dilating….she even started bleeding at some point and in those days caesarian cut was hardly even an option…doctors pushed for a normal birth as far as possible….

The fact that maryam wasn’t well nourished or well fed didn’t help with giving birth much…she hardly had any strength…she tried for a while and then just kept letting go….
“I can’t do it….I can’t..I’m….too..weak…I can’t…”

What a woman has to go through just to bring a child into this world…the pain…the exhaustion….the exertion…that why we are meant to value our mothers so much…..nothing that anyone can do in their entire life will be able to match just that single day that she had brought us into this very world…

The quraan so beautifully mentions:
“And We have enjoined upon man, to his parents, good treatment. His mother carried him with hardship and gave birth to him with hardship, and his gestation and weaning [period] is thirty months. [He grows] until, when he reaches maturity and reaches [the age of] forty years, he says, “My Lord, enable me to be grateful for Your favor which You have bestowed upon me and upon my parents and to work righteousness of which You will approve and make righteous for me my offspring. Indeed, I have repented to You, and indeed, I am of the Muslims.”

It is for this reason that Allah has granted a mother such a great status…

A man came to the Prophet and said, ‘O Messenger of God! Who among the people is the most worthy of my good companionship? The Prophet (PBUH) said: Your mother. The man said, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man further asked, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man asked again, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your father. (Bukhari, Muslim)

A man once consulted the Prophet Muhammad about taking part in a military campaign. The Prophet asked the man if his mother was still living. When told that she was alive, the Prophet said: “(Then) stay with her, for Paradise is at her feet.” (Al-Tirmidhi)

I kept beside maryam all the time giving her all the courage I could….I felt so badly for her….at a time like this every woman needs her mother there for her…and as much as we never really spoke about our families, I know that maryam would most definitely want her mother with her at this difficult stage of her life…

All I could think of was sheikh..that he had insisted that I by heart surah yaaseen as soon as he’d heard that maryam was expecting….he said that surah yaaseen would come to my aid at her time of giving birth..I tried reciting as much as I could remember and also kept on sending durood upon our beloved nabi….

Alhamdulillah at 10:30am on friday morning our greatest gift was brought into this world…..

As soon as the cord was cut, the baby was wiped, wrapped into a cloth and handed over to me…

I walked over to my exhausted wife and now mother of my only child to show her this miracle that Allah had brought into our lives but maryam was too tired, she couldn’t even fathom what was going on around her…

I took this bundle of mine and gave athaan in the right ear and iqamah in the left….

The words of Allah recited into the ears at birth…something I unfortunately wasn’t blessed with….but alhamdulillah now I am able to do this for my own baby..

Sheikh had advised that we should keep a date or something sweet in maryams hospital bag so that as soon as the baby is born, a tiny bit should be chewed and fed to it….

I held this tiny being so tight until the nurses came to take it away….

I half heartedly handed the baby over to them and rushed to check on maryam who had been heavily sedated and sleeping soundly…

I then returned to the nursery where I watched my baby through the window until a nurse informed me that I could go in to take him again as they had cleaned him up already…

I took him and held him close to my face reciting the words of Allah and the name of Allah or rather whatever little I had memorised by then…I wanted my baby to know who Allah is right from the beginning…

I took him and sat with him beside maryam just reading to him all the time until she woke up…

I hadn’t even realised that I had been crying all this time until maryam asked:
“Love?is everything ok?how is our son doing?can I see him?can I hold him?”

And then it struck me…..HIM!!!!!and I held HIM tighter and cried like a baby myself….I cried louder and louder….and I just couldn’t control myself any longer….


Authors note:
8 khatams complete alhamdulillah

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

8 thoughts on “part 192:

  1. A says:

    ALLAHu Akbar!! What an emotional post. It is so true that only الله can reward a mother for all the pain n suffering she goes thru during pregnancy n childbirth.
    It is reported in a narration something to the effect that a man came to a learned scholar m said that he carried his mother on his back for Haj, had he fulfilled her rights, the learned scholar said u have not even repaid her for one drop of milk that she fed u
    Can’t wait for the next post

  2. U says:

    So emotional….May Almighty ﺂللَّــہ grant all our mothers the best of Deen,Dunya,Qabr and Aakhirah.آمين

  3. sister/in/Islam says:

    ‎​​اَللَّهُ اَكْبَر !!!!!!!!!!!

    Maa ki du’a, jannat ki hawa
    mother’s dua, [brings] Jannah’s air
    – Urdu proverb

    We hav2 hav soo much respect for our mothers , we only realise what they went thru when we go thru it !!!!!!

    Awww !!!! *sob* ……. What to do now – poor Imraan !!!!!!
    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

Leave a Reply

