part 185:

‘Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem’
(In the name of Allah, the Most kind, The Most Merciful)

Mary and I took our shahadah without consulting our families… we felt that there wasn’t any need really to do so as we all lived under one roof but lead separate lives completely…. We weren’t usually answerable to anyone for anything that we did so we didn’t think there would be a problem…

However, to our great dismay, once the effects of islam started to appear… mary began dressing more modestly and decided to dawn the hijaab. I began to grow my beard and started to wear my pants above my ankles…that’s when they began questioning us, and when we did break the news to them that we have reverted, to say that they were enraged would be an understatement…

We were both kicked out of our homes…we were forced to leave absolutely everything behind…according to the family, we were a disgrace for leaving the only true religion…we were not only a disgrace to them, but a disgrace to the entire christian community…. They disowned us and told us never to set foot in their homes ever again…

Mohammed gave us shelter for a while…his family was very warm…they took us in as their own..they fed us well and mohammeds dad even found appropriate jobs for mary and I….

We had to work..there was no option…we had to leave our studying aswe…we needed to find a place of our own….not that mohammed and his family weren’t hospitable enough….but we obviously couldn’t burden them any longer…

That’s when I realised that I was responsible for mary…that we had been through everything our entire lives together..and we had turned over this new leaf of our life together…..

I felt completely responsible for her well being…I felt like it was my duty to make sure that she was well and clothed and sheltered and fed…

I spoke to mohammed and his dad for advice and their advice was that in islam, a woman and man should never be alone together..that the 3rd person was always satan….they advised me to make nikaah…

Me:”but I have nothing…I barely just started work…we haven’t even found a place to stay as yet…I have no money whatsoever to support a wife or to have a wedding for that matter”

Uncle sulaiman (Moes dad):”imraan, son! In islam…you need no money to get married…it is as simple as when you took shahaadah…we attend the masjid and the nikaah is performed….I take this upon myself …I will give you 1000 pounds…which you may give whatever amount to mariam as her dowry….and the rest you may use for whatever necessities you require…as for a place..we will get a little flat for you as soon as possible..until then, you both can continue to live here”

Me:”but you have helped us enough…I just cannot…”

Uncle S:”no no son!….as muslims there is no such a thing as helping enough….nabi(S.A,W) has said…that Allah is in the assistance of that servant so long as he assists His fellow muslim….we are in desperate need of Allahs help at all times..and this is an easy means for us attaining His divine help…..”

Me:”uncle sulaiman, I don’t know how I’ll ever be able to thank you and your family for all that you have done for us till now…”

Uncle S:”no need to son! Allah is our reward…when you took your shahaadah, we have become one family…you know, when the prophet of Allah(S.A.W) was driven out of makkah by the disbelievers, and went to settle in madinah, the people of madinah, the ansaar(helpers), they gave all that they could to make the muslims comfortable…they shared their homes, their clothes, their wealth, but most importantly they shared their hearts with the muslims…for this, Allah have granted them high stages in jannah and forgiveness from His side….what more can I ask for if Allah accepts my weak attempts to help you…..so go now…put forward your proposal to maryam……”

I wasn’t sure if maryam would accept…I don’t know if she ever thought of me in that way….I was like a brother and a best friend to her my entire life…would she accept to be my wife?

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

12 thoughts on “part 185:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    Sabaahal khair !!!
    Nice n early today ‎​​​الحمد لله !!!
    What wonderful ppl – ‎​​سُبْحَانَ اللَّه , if we could all b like that 2wards our fellow brothers n sisters in Islam – what unity we’d have !!!!
    We’d live in harmony n peace – but yet we try our utmost to shun evn our close family – may ‎​اللَّهُ grant us understanding and make us like the Sahaba (RA) – ‎​​​​آمين

    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

    Can’t wait to read more !!

  2. Sister A. says:

    Imraan & Mariam were so fortunate 2 hav uncle S. & family’s support after been thrown out of their homes by their families. Many reverts hav been °̩и da same situation & had nowher 2 go. They r forced 2 fend 4 demselves & many of dem struggle wen dey hav no support. May ﷲ mk it easy 4 us who r born Muslims 2 be good examples 2 others °̩и portraying Islam correctly ​آمِيْن.

  3. blog lover says:

    Alhamdulilah uncle s was kind indeed,this was just the start to the entire journey !I can’t wait to hear more inshallah,great story keep up the fantastic work

  4. A says:

    ALLAHu Akbar! What a beautiful story so far, if only we could all emulate the Sahaabah n bcom like the Ansaar to the reverts
    Can’t wait for more

  5. A says:

    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته
    Jummah Mubarak sister, is everything ok? Missed ur post yesterday

Leave a Reply

