part 184:

‘Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem’
(In the name of Allah, the Most kind, The Most Merciful)

I was beginning to get worried that mohammed was going to lose it…although I’d never seen him lose his temper before..but eleanor was just asking way too many questions….if she’d asked me all of that, I honestly would never be able to answer her questions….my knowledge on christianity wasn’t that vast…I knew the basic and what was necessary to know….

If I really thought about it..I believe in god too, but what proof do I have that He does really exist?I know He is there..but how do I explain to someone who wasn’t brought up going to church the way I was…?

Mohammeds knowledge regarding his religion was profound…I guess I underestimated him….we’ve been friends for years but I’d never realised how brilliant he really was…

He was as cool as a cucumber and welcomed any question that eleanor passed his way with open arms…

Mohammed:”well this very question has been posed a million times to our religious scholars….infact, one real great scholar of islam gave a beautiful answer to that…he too was asked by an atheist to prove that God really did exist…he set up a meeting with this guy for a specific time but was unfortunately a little late…when he finally arrived at the meeting place, he was asked regarding his reason for being late…his reply was amazing….he explained that on his way he was stuck at a river and had no means of crossing it..when suddenly a piece of a tree trunk fell down and formed itself into a boat and in this way I was able to cross the river and attent this meeting….”

Eleanor:”bull ****!!”

Mohammed:”(smile)exactly what the guy said….so then?you are saying its impossible for a boat to just form on its own when the means was already there…so how is it possible for the entire earth and universe, including the sun, moon and all other planets to just suddenly appear with absolutely no creator behind it whatsoever?”

I was stunned….that was true…I never thought about it in that way…eleanor for once didn’t have much back to say….instead she remained silent…

Mohammed:”(looking at his watch)unfortunately, as much as I’d love to stay and chat…its time for my next prayer…but we can surely continue again….let me know when..”

He got up to leave…..

Mohammed:”just one more thing….try it if you wish to….if you don’t want to, its totally up to you…give yourself a time every day…anytime…you choose….do nothing else, raise your hands and pray…say:”oh God…if you really do exist, please show me the correct path”…..there’s no harm in that is there?because if there is no god…then atleast you’ve tried….and got your answer…but if there is…He’ll surely answer your prayers….no doubt! And it will be well worth the few minutes you spent….”

With those words mohammed left us all to think…

We weren’t sure about anyone else…but mary and I sat up that night talking about what mohammed had said…..

That’s the thing about us…we could always speak openly to eachother and we could say things to eachother that we never could to anyone else…

We didn’t doubt our faith…we were brought up to strongly believe that jesus was God…he was the father, the son and the holy ghost and to us, that was always the truth….

But why did we feel so uneasy….

Mary:”why don’t we speak to mohammed…maybe he’s christian but doesn’t even realise it….I mean, whatever he’s told us sounded more or less what we know…about prophet abraham and his son and all of that….I faintly remember These things…but I know we learnt it all….”

Me:”yeah!maybe he’s just deviated abit from the path….”

I found myself praying that night….as I lay in bed….I closed my eyes and remembered what mohammed had said….

Me:”oh God!guide me to the correct beliefs…I don’t doubt your existence…I know you’re there, all I’m asking is to be guided to what’s correct…”

I did this every night before I slept..I hadn’t even told mary that I was doing this…..only later did I realise that mary was doing the same thing every night…and I guess so was eleanor….

Because Alhamdulillah, as time took us along….a year later all 3 of us had taken our shahaadah….

And that’s when everything took a completely different turn….


Authors note:
Alhamdulillah we are on 4 khatams at the moment….if you can only manage a para, please contribute to ‘a journey in a journals’ page

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “part 184:

  1. zana says:

    الحمد لله
    Ismail there is so much potential for you to become a better person look at what your real parents did.

  2. sister/in/Islam says:

    Wow !!! Beautiful !! ‎​​​ما شاء الله

    Always wonderful to hear stories of reverts !! Brings joy and also makes one firmer in their faith – ‎​​​الحمد لله

    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

  3. Sister A. says:

    الْحَمْـّدُاللَّه three ppl got Hidaayat through da effort of 1 patient person. Can’t wait 2 hear da rest of da story.

  4. young muslimah says:

    Aslm, I am a young muslimah all the way from South Africa.. I started reading your blog this week, I’m not married but to have commited sins which I ask for forgiverness everyday.. While reading your blog I got an eye opening , learning the ins and out and realized I need to stop all haraam actions if I to want a marriage filled with barakaa like, Salama. Jzk so much for this blog has really turned my life around I can only hope for better here from InshAllah…wslmz

    • Wslm sister…I’m so happy that Allah has chosen you from amongst millions to realise the value of your life…may Allah make your every step towards Him easy and know that you have all our support…
      On the day of qiyaamah when the sun will be directly above us, one category of people that will be under the shade of Allahs thrown will be that youngster who grew up in the ibaadah of Allah….so may u be Granted this great honour inshallah…

Leave a Reply

