part 160:

Apas point of view:

I decided that I’d had enough of it…i sacrifice so much of my time to teach each child individually. I don’t teach in the manner that a normal madressah does..where the entire class gets the same work and only a few kids get tested… Each student in my class is given sabaq according to their pace. If a child is slower at learning, they are given less, if a child is faster, they are given more…and each child is tested separately every single day along with revision…but these older girls were just not interested..they wouldn’t learn their work and when imtihaan came, they actually failed a subject…

To fail a subject in madressah is highly unlikely, because most students get between 80 and 100% in all subjects.very rarely will they get anything under 80%…we are very lenient and the work is relatively easy because of the constant revising that is done in class…

These girls haven’t been interested at all..infact, last year, they just stopped attending madressah….no notification was given whatsoever that they are not attending anymore and for months they just didn’t pitch up….and then a couple of months later they decided that they would like to return and again withou consulting me whether it was ok or not…

At their age they are unable to even answer a simple question like what is the name of nabi(S.A.W) or who is jibraa’il(a.S)..they couldn’t name even one prophet when asked to…

Is this the condition of our kids today?…but ask these same kids to name a couple of actors or singers and see how fast they can rattle that off….forget the names, they are able to imitate them to the tEe…

Its sad, honestly, that our priorities have all been mixed up…

I gave numerous reminders and encouraged the performance of atleast ONE salaah a day..these girls are baaligh…by now salaah shouldn’t even be a question….it should be a daily habit…shouldn’t we be instilling this into our kids from a young age….?

Everyday they would come to class with a ‘so what?!’ attitude…and totally ignore the constant reminders from me to ‘please perform salaah’…

I don’t ever scream or shout at any of them….these same children are the reason for that as their elder sister attended my madressah aswel…and when I used to ask why her work was not learnt, she would burst into tears and refuse to continue….and then I would get a call from their mother stating that her children are very hard working…and her children don’t always have the time to go over their madressah work because of being swamped with school work and assignments…

What do you answer to that? I’m not saying don’t do school work..but is madressah not important aswel?we make time for everything else in our lives but deen unfortunately…

Everyday they would receive demerits for not performing any salaah and for their work not being up to standard and i would remind them that upon reaching 10 demerits, they would be suspended…again….no effect…

The dreaded day came when one of the girls reached 10 demerits after all her merits were taken away aswel…i was 2 minded…I honestly didn’t want to suspend her but had no option because if i didn’t suspend her, the other students wouldn’t take it seriously and would also start taking advantage….I was left in such a dilemma…

So a letter was written and given to the girls for their mother to explain the reason for the suspension…

Apa waited for the call from their mother who usually has too much to say about everything…this same woman complains that the other students in the class make too much of noise whilst learning their work and her children are complaining that it distracts them in class so I should set aside a separate time for her kids only and I should consider teaching her kids on a saturday morning…

Do I not have other things like my home, family and kids also to see to?

but the entire morning went by and no call was received from the mother, neither any sms’s were received….the time for madressah was coming near and apa prepared to receive all the other students…

Finally at the time of madressah, while i was teaching there was an angry knock at the door which disturbed me from teaching….

I opened the door to find the girls very angry mother waiting to pounce on me…


Authors note:
Inspirations page updated
Jokes page updated
Rajab & sha’baan page updated
A new page has been uploaded under the name of ‘books I recommend’

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

8 thoughts on “part 160:

  1. rooksana says:

    Dis is sooo true. It is happening in madressa 2day. U no I also teach. N if I happen 2 ask y didn’t u com madressa dey gv an answer as I ws sick. So I ask didn’t u go skwl. Jee I went. I get soo mad. Bcz u have tym 4 skwl n not madressa. Wen u die u won’t be ask abt hw many a u got in skwl. No. But u will be ask abt ur deen.
    It is sad 2day hw our deen is lacking in our children. Allah no best.

  2. A says:

    This is sadly the condition of our families today, more emphasis is laid on school n secular education n Madrasa is by the way. Also the parents n students carry on as if they doing us a favour by coming to Madrasa n don’t care about learning their work
    Also parents don’t realize the importance of Salaah in the lives of their children n don’t enforce it whereas Islamic knowledge is Fardh

  3. sister/in/Islam says:

    Eish !!! This is happening on a daily basis !!
    We r moving away from Islam n getting mor influenced by the west …. We must realise what our goal n aim in this dunya is !!!!! We hav2 plz ‎​اللَّهُ n Nabi ‎​صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ

    May we realise the status of muallims and muallima’s !! ‎​​​​آمين

  4. anon says:

    Sadly in todays time our priorities are mixed up 1st preferance goes to skwl n thn madressah if a student feels lyk cumn will pitch up or n if they dnt feel lyk cumn they dnt cum. Its really frustrating for th apas cz student forget they work.if a student stays absent for 1 day its as if he misses out 40 days or work. May allah grnt us all hidayah to be punctual in watever we do

  5. Sister A. says:

    Unfortunately, This kind of incident is common now days. The merit/demerit system is good. I also teach & it is difficult 2 discipline students these days. We as Muallimaat r xpected 2 discipline students bt most methods of discipline dat were used °̩и da past r not allowed anymor. I also use a merit/demerit system 2 motivate my students as well as 2 discipline dem. Wrks well especially ώĩ†̥h da little kids. Another imprtnt point made °̩и da post is regarding disrespect by parents 2wards Muallimaat. Sum parents r very rude & don’t think abt how they spk 2 da Muallimaat in front of their kids & sum tyms even °̩и front of da whole class. Wen a parent has no respect 4 da Muallimah den the child also loses respect 4 her. May ﷲ grant us ӑℓℓ Hidaayat ​آمِيْن

  6. This is the sad reality of today, parents give priority to their kids secular education and let Islamic education take the back seat.
    I think all parents need to wake up and realize that by giving your child a good Islamic education, will not only benefit them in this temporary world,but will also benefit them in the everlasting aakirah.Insha-Allah, Ameen.

  7. First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just
    seems ljke the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?

    Appreciate it!

    • hi…
      Honestly I’m far from professional enough to be giving advice…
      However what works for me is sitting without any noise at all and focusing on the story at hand..I sort of place myself into the story..I think a lot of people suffer with how to begin…including myself…so carry on penning down the thoughts that you have and you could always come back to what you think is befitting for the beginning…works for me sometimes…
      Best of luck and don’t let anything get in your way of writing….its a beautiful hobby

Leave a Reply

