part 146:

In the far right hand corner there were 3 tables full of very noticeably poor people…aunty faati was bringing them platters of food from the buffet…..and talking and laughing with them….as she turned around to leave the table, her eye caught mine…she smiled and winked…and then started making her way to my table…

Aunty F:”salma my darling…have you eaten?come you must be starving..let me get you something….”

Me:”no no…don’t worry…I was just waiting for the crowd to subside….I’m going now…”

Aunty F:”by then all the food will be finished…come now”

Me:(giggle)”….err…..”
I didn’t know what to call her, I know I’m supposed to call her mummy but it feels so weird….

Maybe I should put my pride one side and just call her mummy….she’s such a sweet woman, she’ll be so happy if I do…and aqeel will be happy with me also….I mean,how happy was I to hear him calling my parents mummy and daddy…

There are so many of my friends who don’t have the guts to call them that…some call them aunty whoever and uncle whoever…crazy I know….hmmm…if I want to start this marriage on a good note I have to just put the awkwardness one side and say it..

Me:”mm….mummy….err….who are those people(pointing to the far right hand corner) that you were taking food for?”

Aunty f:”(smiling)….oh….they are just some very needy people…aqeel felt that a walima is for poor people…to feed the poor and he wanted to bring some people and feed them so that Allah can give him barakah in his marriage….but shhh..don’t tell anyone..I’m only telling you because you’re his wife….he doesn’t like people to know the good he does….but aqeel is a really warm hearted person my darling…you will come to know that soon…and inshallah he will treat you in the best way possible….”

Me:”(pulling the chair next to me out a little)..please sit….and tell me more”

Aunty faati:”there’s so much more to tell you my dear…but you will learn this boy slowly slowly inshallah..I’m not saying it because he’s my son but honestly he has a heart of gold…he has so much of respect…but if ever you’re having a problem, just come straight to me and I’ll sort him out..(Pause)..but I doubt you ever will inshallah…”

Me:”ameen”

Aunty F:”I have never seen my son so happy…and it makes me want to do everything In my power for this marriage of yours to work…because I know its what makes him happy…you know, I don’t like to bring up what’s happened..but you know that noori..she really messed him up badly……I’m sure it must’ve been really hard for him to find out all of that about her you know…but shukr now he has you(putting her hand lovingly on my shoulder)….”

I smiled….

Aunty F:”ey..I better go and see that everybody is eating and everything is ok…you know even though its catered for…we still have to keep checking that everything is ok…you know some of these caterers, they steal pots full and load it away in their cars…chaal…..and you also go and eat my darling..”

I spotted fay who had just dished up some food for raadiya and put her next to dadi to eat…riyaad was probably with ismail on the mens side…

I stood up with my plate and walked to the centre where I was joined by fay…

Fay:”sal, these prawns look sooo divine…I tasted one from diyas plate…mmm…so good”

Sal:”(laugh)…fay…this babys really craving good food hey”

I dished up some lovely sea food salad…a piece of lemon butter kingklip, 1 sweet and sour prawn, some crumbed calamari and spicy chips….

I then looked at my plate and felt abit embarrassed…brides don’t usually eat on their big days…and here I am acting like a glutton……aah what the hell..I’m hungry…I don’t care what anyone thinks of me….

The food was so good, I found myself wanting to get up for more..but just the thought of walking over to the table kept me back….ok buffet style has its benefits, like no men having to serve on the ladies side….but the one annoying thing was having to walk back when you wanted more…

I decided against it….I wasn’t still starving..but I was just being greedy….and besides, too much of prawns is not recommended anyway…..so let me just control myself…I’ll have dessert when that comes about….

Oh..there’s that cousin of aqeels…..the one who was giving me dirty looks last night…oh my word..she wore a red dress that had cuts in all the weirdest of places, showing off so much of skin…and electric red lipstick…her hair was pushed up on the one side and laid down on the other….I wanted to laugh..she’ll looked like cruella…but that would be rude…she was walking over..or rather modelling over to my table….grrr…shux…what does she want?I don’t know why but I have this irksome feeling about her…

silent living-foreveramessup.wordpress.com

9 thoughts on “part 146:

  1. sister/in/Islam says:

    That’s sooo good of Aqeel – ‎​​​ما شاء الله – he really is a wonderful person – may ‎​اللَّهُ always grant him barkat in everything he does – ‎​​​​آمين
    Cos walimah’s r not for the rich or well-off … Its more for the disadvantaged and needy !!!! He has his priorities correct – ‎​​​الحمد لله

    Mmm tasty tasty …. U better ask Fay 2 fetch u some more Salma… We don’t want u dreaming of the food Lata on …. Hahahah

    Now wat does dis cuzn of Aqeel’s want ???? Hope she doesn’t cause a commotion !!!! *attention seekers*

    ‎​​​​جزاك الله

  2. sister/in/Islam says:

    Came across these marriage quotes and tawt of Salma !!!… Lol

    “A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, and always with the same person.”

    “We’re all a little weird. And life is a little weird. And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutually satisfying weirdness – and call it love – true love.”
    Hehhehehehe

    “Marriage is a three ring circus: engagement ring, wedding ring, and suffering”
    But Ml Yunus Patel (RA) mentioned that as Muslims we must not regard marriage as suffering so we shud change it to ‘ Bearing ‘ !!!
    Cos afta marriage comes children …… ‎​​إنشاءالله

  3. rooksana says:

    Yummmmmmy prawns. Plz eat 4 also. Aqeel such a nyc person. It is a good thg dat dey invite da poor ppl. Masha allah. Allah increase all our muhabbat between our spouse. Ameen
    Wonder wat da cuz wants ?????

  4. Sister A. says:

    Aqeels a gud hearted person whose trying 2 do evrytin properly dis tym. Dats da way 2 go bro!
    Aaaaand da feast continues ! ! !

  5. A says:

    Salma u r so fortunate that u got a gem, Aqeel seems like a person with a heart of gold
    Every person goes thru the dilemma about what to call their mil but I think it’s fitting to call her mummy bcoz if we love our husbands we should love everything associated with them including their mothers ‘wink’
    Yummy n Devine seafood
    Wonder who that girl is….

  6. Masha-Allah, Aqil is really following the sunnah of a Walima by inviting people that are less privilege , so unfortunate that so few people follows the sunnah of our beloved Nabi (S.A.W).May Allah guide us.

Leave a Reply

