part 107

I don’t think aqeel was this sad even when he found out about noori….he looked lost…like he’d just lost the only thread that he survived on…poor guy….but that’s life….we win some..we lose some….

As the time for the wedding drew near, everyone got into wedding mode…the atmosphere at salmas house was so heart warming…

During school days I couldn’t go but I would make something and send everyday….weekends we spent a lot of time there…surprising enough ismail didn’t mind at all…he seemed to have got along very well with salmas brother…I think for ismail, he was just happy to be away from his family..he seemed so much happier as long as they were out of the way…

And no-one from his family bothers to even phone him to see if his okay or alive…and I don’t want to push the matter and nag him to phone them…because even though its the better thing to do…for him to phone his family and show that he’s still a good son, its just not healthy for him or us….

I was busy in the kitchen one morning and talking to maria, the domestic….

Maria:”makoti, boss don’t have jobs for my braada(brother)?he don’t have job now and he suffaaring(suffering)…”

Marias brother works for rukaya my sister in law…he’s her driver…..I wonder what happened?

Me:”why maria?did something happen?did rukaya fire him?”

Just then the house phone rang and I couldn’t continue my conversation with maria…I made a note to ask her about it later…

Me:”hello?”

Caller:”salaams, is this faaiza?riyaads mummy?”

Me:(concerned)”jee it is….”

Caller:”faaiza this is mrs poppy, the secretary at the muslim school….riyaad seems to be feeling a little ill..will you be able to pick him up?”

Me:”oh okay..sure..he was looking a bit out of it this morning…..I’ll be there shortly..jazakallah so much for letting me know”

Riyaad had abit of fever last night and I medicated him and thought he’ll manage to go to school today…I hated them missing school for no reason…school and madressah are both very important and absenteeism is not something I’m very fond of…

Its really disturbing to see how some parents are so lenient when it comes to attendance…a child throws a tantrum that they don’t want to go to school and the parent obliges…

Some kids tend to stay absent for petty reason like they were tired and couldn’t wake up in the morning..or they slept too late the night before or they have guests over and can’t make it….

If we don’t instill the importance of education within our kids, they too will slack in it and not regard it as important too….

I called ismail to fetch riyaad but he said that he was due for a meeting in the next 10 minutes so I should ask dada to fetch him if possible…

Thank Allah for my grandparents..they’re such a great help…imagine if I were living with my inlaws?…what would I have done in this situation?who would I ask to fetch my son?that’s why I feel its necessary nowadays to atleast ‘know’ how to drive…

You don’t have to be running around in the streets the whole day, but when it comes to situations like these, atleast we’re not stranded…

Anyhow, for now I’m abit useless, I can’t drive and in my situation it wouldn’t be a wise idea to be driving anyway…everytime I go for a check up, dr gives me a long lecture about sitting put and not exerting myself too much….don’t they understanding how demanding life has become?its impossible to just be immobile all the time….and I honestly don’t have the patience…

Once riyaad came home I sponged him down, gave him some medication and tucked him under a blanky to have a bit of a nap….

Shukr to Allah, both my kids don’t really trouble much when they’re sick….they’re just lame and sleep wherever they are….I guess Allah knows that I can’t handle a whining and cranky child so He made that easy for me….

While I was warming the food for lunch, I remembered that I needed to Ask maria what happened with her brother….

Me:”so aunty maria…..you were still busy telling me about your brother…why did they fire him?”

Maria:”how makoti…you don’t know?they didin(didn’t) faaya(fire) him…..that sista(sister) for boss she not there no more…so no wek(work) for heem(him)”

13 thoughts on “part 107

  1. I don’t think aqeel was this sad even when he found out about noori….he looked lost…like he’d just lost the only thread that he survived on…poor guy….but that’s life….we win some..we lose some….

    As the time for the wedding drew near, everyone got into wedding mode…the atmosphere at salmas house was so heart warming…

    During school days I couldn’t go but I would make something and send everyday….weekends we spent a lot of time there…surprising enough ismail didn’t mind at all…he seemed to have got along very well with salmas brother…I think for ismail, he was just happy to be away from his family..he seemed so much happier as long as they were out of the way…

    And no-one from his family bothers to even phone him to see if his okay or alive…and I don’t want to push the matter and nag him to phone them…because even though its the better thing to do…for him to phone his family and show that he’s still a good son, its just not healthy for him or us….

    I was busy in the kitchen one morning and talking to maria, the domestic….

    Maria:”makoti, boss don’t have jobs for my braada(brother)?he don’t have job now and he suffaaring(suffering)…”

    Marias brother works for rukaya my sister in law…he’s her driver…..I wonder what happened?

    Me:”why maria?did something happen?did rukaya fire him?”

    Just then the house phone rang and I couldn’t continue my conversation with maria…I made a note to ask her about it later…

    Me:”hello?”

    Caller:”salaams, is this faaiza?riyaads mummy?”

    Me:(concerned)”jee it is….”

    Caller:”faaiza this is mrs poppy, the secretary at the muslim school….riyaad seems to be feeling a little ill..will you be able to pick him up?”

    Me:”oh okay..sure..he was looking a bit out of it this morning…..I’ll be there shortly..jazakallah so much for letting me know”

    Riyaad had abit of fever last night and I medicated him and thought he’ll manage to go to school today…I hated them missing school for no reason…school and madressah are both very important and absenteeism is not something I’m very fond of…

    Its really disturbing to see how some parents are so lenient when it comes to attendance…a child throws a tantrum that they don’t want to go to school and the parent obliges…

    Some kids tend to stay absent for petty reason like they were tired and couldn’t wake up in the morning..or they slept too late the night before or they have guests over and can’t make it….

    If we don’t instill the importance of education within our kids, they too will slack in it and not regard it as important too….

    I called ismail to fetch riyaad but he said that he was due for a meeting in the next 10 minutes so I should ask dada to fetch him if possible…

    Thank Allah for my grandparents..they’re such a great help…imagine if I were living with my inlaws?…what would I have done in this situation?who would I ask to fetch my son?that’s why I feel its necessary nowadays to atleast ‘know’ how to drive…

    You don’t have to be running around in the streets the whole day, but when it comes to situations like these, atleast we’re not stranded…

    Anyhow, for now I’m abit useless, I can’t drive and in my situation it wouldn’t be a wise idea to be driving anyway…everytime I go for a check up, dr gives me a long lecture about sitting put and not exerting myself too much….don’t they understanding how demanding life has become?its impossible to just be immobile all the time….and I honestly don’t have the patience…

    Once riyaad came home I sponged him down, gave him some medication and tucked him under a blanky to have a bit of a nap….

    Shukr to Allah, both my kids don’t really trouble much when they’re sick….they’re just lame and sleep wherever they are….I guess Allah knows that I can’t handle a whining and cranky child so He made that easy for me….

    While I was warming the food for lunch, I remembered that I needed to Ask maria what happened with her brother….

    Me:”so aunty maria…..you were still busy telling me about your brother…why did they fire him?”

    Maria:”how makoti…you don’t know?they didin(didn’t) faaya(fire) him…..that sista(sister) for boss she not there no more…so no wek(work) for heem(him)”

    • I smiled all the way from the top of the post right to here…. Mrs Author, thank you so so much for this post. Even more for dedicating it to me…. Your post reminded me of the girls I see at university. I dont want to sterotype but there is a group of indian girls that comes to mind specifically. They were the kind that wore skinny jeans, fitted tops, some wore short sleeves, and scarves, with the general trend of the camel hump or the fringe sticking out, and a muslim black girl, wearing a pretty flowey full lenth dress and an inner, with a scarf on her head, no camel hump, no hair showing, greeted them (iv noticed wearing a scarf allows other muslims to greet you with salaam) and the majority of the group snubbed her.

  2. A says:

    Ya الله wonde what happened to bossy aunty Ruks lol
    Can’t wait for next post
    جزاك الله خيرا to mrs Author for going out of ur way to bring us posts n also for all the lovely lessons

  3. Nafissa says:

    JazakAllah khair 4 d lovely posts . Really appreciate your effort,Allah swt grant you all your hearts desires in sha Allah ameen.

  4. sister/in/islam says:

    Oooh Saadi mode !!!!
    Let’s bake some red velvets cuppies n take !!!! ‎​ℓ☺ℓ

    Awww poor baby – I feel so sorry for kids wen dey sick – اللَّهُ grant shifa … Wen any1 has fever , its good to read Nabi Ibrahim (AS) دعاء –
    “Qulna Ya Naar, kooni bardaw wa salaaman Alaa Ibrahim”

    Also this دعاء …….

    لَا حَوْلَ وَلَا قُوَّةَ إِلَّا بِاللَّهِ
    medicine for 99 ailments, the least of which is depression.

    Hmm . Wats up wid rukaya ??!,,

    جَزَاكَ اللهُ خَيْرًا 
 ┉┈┈┈♡♡ -̶̯͡┈̥⌣̊°˚

  5. Sister A. says:

    Shame! Poor Aqeel.
    Oooh wedin fever!
    As Ʋ do unto others so shall it b done unto Ʋ. Ruqayya’s turn has cum at last. She ωɪℓℓ now kno wat it feels lyk 2 be °̩и Faaiza’s position 2 sum xtent.

Leave a Reply

